If you are injured in a Benson, Minnesota car accident, our attorneys at Nelson Personal Injury, LLC, are here to help. We will review the facts of your case and help you recover the compensation you are entitled to.
We are here to answer all of your questions about your car accident claim and will explain the legal services we offer. With our legal guidance and know-how, you can feel confident that you have an experienced car accident attorney on your side who will help you get the maximum compensation possible for your claim.
Our Legal Team Brings Experience and Expertise to Your Car Accident Claim
If a negligent driver causes a crash and you are injured, you may hesitate to hire an attorney to help you recover compensation for your damages and injuries. The biggest fear we have found that our potential clients have is that they will not be able to afford our services.
Fortunately, however, we work on a contingency fee basis, which means you only pay us if your claim is successful. If we do not obtain a recovery on your behalf, you will never be charged a fee.
We have also worked with clients who initially try to handle the claims process on their own; however, dealing with the insurance companies can be confusing, and can get overwhelming quickly. With over 50 years of combined experience, our attorneys know the law and understand what it takes to build a successful claim.
How We Can Help You Recover Compensation After You Experience Injuries in a Car Accident
If you are injured in a Benson, Minnesota car accident, you may have two potential claims: a no-fault claim (also known as personal injury protection or PIP) against your own insurance company; and a personal injury or liability claim against any at-fault driver and their insurance company.
No-fault benefits are available to anyone injured as a result of the maintenance or use of a motor vehicle in Minnesota, even if the accident was your fault.
In Minnesota, it is required that you have a no-fault or PIP policy that provides a minimum of $20,000 in medical expenses and mileage, and $20,000 in wage loss and replacement services.
If another driver is at fault for causing the accident, it is possible to recover additional compensation by filing a personal injury claim against the at-fault party’s insurance company. However, in order to do so, you must first meet one of five so called “tort thresholds:” a death resulting from the accident, 60 days disability, you incur greater than $4,000 in medical expenses (excluding the cost of x-rays), a scar or disfigurement, or a permanent injury. An insurance adjuster is typically assigned to your case when you file this claim with the insurance company. It is their job to evaluate the merits of the claim, and attempt to resolve it without the need for a lawsuit.
It is important to remember that insurance adjusters are not on your side. While the individual who contacts you may seem friendly and concerned, their goal is to get you to resolve your claim for as little money as possible. They do this by trying to get information from you that will allow the company to reduce or deny your claim.
If the insurance company does not make a fair and reasonable offer to settle your personal injury claim, you can start a lawsuit against the at fault drive and file the case in civil court. The statute of limitations on most car accident claims is six years in Minnesota. This means you must settle your claim or start a lawsuit within 6 years of the date of the accident, or your claim is forever barred.
Common Questions About Benson Car Accident Claims
At Nelson Personal Injury, LLC, our legal team is dedicated to helping our clients get the compensation they deserve after being involved in a car accident. Some of the most commonly asked questions by our clients are answered here.
I’ve been involved in an accident, now what should I do?
See our Important Information page for what steps you should take after being involved in a Benson car accident. You should also consult with an experienced, trusted Benson personal injury attorney as soon as possible to ensure you understand the process, so that your rights are protected, and an appropriate investigation can be undertaken as soon as possible.
Are you required to file a police report after a Benson car accident?
According to Minnesota law, it is required that all drivers who are involved in an accident report it to the authorities if property damage, bodily harm, or death result. Drivers must also provide their name, address, license plate number, date of birth, and e-mail to the authorities. If possible, you should render aid to anyone involved in the collision who was injured.
Do I have to talk to the insurance companies after being involved in an accident?
Typically, you may be required to talk to your own insurance company after an accident and cooperate with them and assist in their investigation. However, you have no such obligation to talk to the other party’s insurance company after a car accident. In fact, doing so may negatively affect your potential injury claim in the future, as insurance companies will go to great lengths to try to get you to admit things that may be against your interest. Before talking to any insurance company, it may be in your best interest to consult with an experienced personal injury attorney.
Contact Our Legal Team for Help with Your Benson Car Accident Claim
If you are involved in a Benson car accident, you should contact our legal team at Nelson Personal Injury, LLC. We can review the facts of the case and help you recover the compensation you are entitled to.
We offer all clients a free initial consultation and never collect a fee unless your claim is successful. Call today to schedule an appointment.